femicrafting

My good friend, the fabulous Jen, is coming to town next week, so I thought I should do a craft in her honor! Jen is one of my femtors (feminist mentors, obvi) so I wanted to do something to celebrate that. I settled on a stenciled t-shirt because t-shirts are the best and because I’d never stenciled before!

I originally had the idea to do a “this is what a feminist looks like” shirt for Jordan, but then I thought about how long that would take to stencil all those letters and abandoned the idea. Then, when I thought of Jen, I mulled over the idea again, but this time decided to do a symbol instead. (Spoiler alert: I made 3: one for Jen, one for J, and one for me. Triplets!)

The symbol I chose is the always-popular raised fist inside the Venus symbol, which I can never see without also remembering this beautiful photo of Gloria Steinem and Dorothy Pitman Hughes:

Image

Be still, my heart. =P

Anyway, I cut out my stencil and laid it down, centered horizontally, on the t-shirt. I also covered the surrounding area with paper towels because I was using a fabric spray paint and didn’t want any splatters outside the stencil. (In this picture, I’ve already done Jen’s which is why the stencil already has black paint on it, haha!)Image

Next, I evenly (and thoroughly) sprayed the stenciled area.

ImageThen, when I was satisfied with the paint coverage, I carefully peeled away the stencil and paper towels.

ImageTada! Here’s a group shot!

ImageHow rad is that?! Like my own feminist t-shirt army. =P I’m really pleased with how they turned out, though! Stenciling is fun!

Now I’m ready to tackle dying some eggs! Hope everybody has a blessed Easter!

 

About whatkittydid

I'm a crafter, a feminist, a reader, a mom, and a cat-lover.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email!

Archives

Categories

Blog Stats

  • 6,993 visitors
