the long and the short of it.

I cut my hair today.

Well, actually, I had it cut. By a lovely woman named Jamie at Hair Cuttery who listened to everything I wanted, gave great advice, and didn’t try to talk me out of it. Which was unexpected, because my instructions to her were “I’d like you to cut off all my hair, please.”

Before I went to the salon, I googled something about really short hair. (I can’t remember the exact phrasing. Something along the lines of “will really short hair be a terrible idea?”) The results that came back were incredible. There were sites telling you what short haircut would suit your face shape, sites detailing women’s experience with getting their hair cut very short, and forums where people explained the reasons women should never have short hair. Here are some quotes that stood out the most:

“[W]hen I really thought about it, I wanted to be the girl with the short hair. I wanted to be Helen Slater in The Legend of Billie Jean. I wanted to be Winona Ryder in Reality Bites. I wanted to be Demi Moore in G.I. Jane. I wanted to transcend my hair.” – Rita Arens

“Every time a girl does this to her hair, she’s either just broken up with her boyfriend or she’s planning to.” – Chinny Chin Chin

“When the world sees you differently, so you, too, see the world differently. When you cut off your hair and are perceived as less feminine, you start to feel more butch, more powerful, more level with your male peers. How you perceive yourself doesn’t necessarily change — nor should it — but you become acutely aware that you are perceived differently. People interact with you differently, and your opportunities for interaction change.” – Jolie O’Dell

“My wife, Carly, has a long, straight, sexy bob–if she ever got a crew cut like Halle [Berry], I’d leave her–No wonder Halle’s boy toy left her!” – Chris Peitel

“When I cut my hair short almost three years ago, I didn’t mean to send any messages; I just wanted to look nice. Since then, however, I seem to be radiating some signal that I am a lesbian. If I am confusing people, I do not mean to, so apologies for any mix ups.” – Suzanne Reisman

“It is in our nature to be attracted to women with long healthy hair, just as it is attractive for a woman to have larger breasts.” – T-Bear32

“Maybe I can [cut off all my hair,] but I can’t do it without making a statement. Everyone I meet will think the statement is about something else. And maybe I would be making a statement. The statement that I don’t want my hair right now, and I should be able to make that decision myself.” – Kate Fridkis

I read a lot of articles and here’s what I decided: Short hair has nothing to do with how feminine or how masculine I am. It has nothing to do with my sexual orientation. It shouldn’t make me unappealing to men, but if it does, that’s okay. It doesn’t make me a feminist, and it doesn’t make me a radical. Having short hair makes me a woman who got her hair cut. And I’m quite okay with that. =)

Here’s the before:

Oh, hey there, me.

And here’s the after:

Aww, yeah. =P=)

EDIT: I need to clarify. I am a feminist. I believe in equal rights for both men and women. What I meant to say is that getting my hair cut short is not what makes me a feminist.

About whatkittydid

I'm a crafter, a feminist, a reader, a mom, and a cat-lover.

6 responses to “the long and the short of it.

  1. Diane

    Wow…you did get your hair chopped off!! Short hair looks GREAT on you!!

  2. Mama Pihl

    Trust you don’t take Chinny Chin Chin’s advice and leave Jodan!! What does he think of the new do?

    • I asked him what he thought before I did it, and he said, “Go for it, you’ll look fine.” And when I got back I asked which looked better, long or short, and he (smartly) replied that he liked them equally. =P

  3. Mom

    You are beautiful, inside and out!!!

  4. Pingback: Eat the Damn Cake » everyone is supposed to be exercising all the time

  5. You look fantastic, and I VERY much like your not-so-much-of-a-statement statement. I’m think I’m going to adopt it when I chop off 29″ of my hair in the next couple months. 😀

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email!

Archives

Categories

Blog Stats

  • 7,062 visitors
