happy labor day weekend

Hi, friends!

I’m in the mood for a numbered list! (When am I not in the mood for a numbered list? I love numbered lists!)

1. There’s a car outside our apartment whose car alarm has been going off steadily for the past hour. It will stop every 3 minutes or so for about a minute. Then, just when you think it’s safe, it starts up again.

2. My mommy’s birthday is tomorrow! Happy Birthday, Mom!!! I love you!!

3. I’m in a bit of a pickle. I’ve got some crafts lined up, and some that I’ve even started and finished, but they are Christmas gifts so I can’t blog about them yet. (Before anyone freaks out on me: yes, I do start planning for Christmas in late August. I like Christmas a lot, so I like to get a head start. Also, when you’re hand-making things, you never want to leave them till the last minute!) Anyway, I’m just going to store them up and blog about them all out December 26th, I guess? This is also my reason behind the lack of crafty posts lately.

4. Have no fear! Today’s post is crafty!

My mother-in-law sent me 4 dresses that belonged to the daughter of a friend and when I got them, I immediately tried them all on. (I love getting mail. And dresses.) Two were wonderful as is, one I put in the thrift store pile (it was a shiny fuschia and would make a great homecoming or school dance dress. I could’ve turned it into something else, but it was really cute and I decided some girl will need a formal dress more than I need an upcycled tote bag), and the last one was a bubble dress. (Just pretend there isn’t tailor’s chalk all over the front.)

I love that collar!Cute right? That is, until I turn to the side and suddenly I’m a stick in a sack.

What, what is this?!Some of us don’t have what one might call “a figure,” in which case this is the worst look possible: the flowy mid-section and lack of any form beneath. No good. I could’ve added this to the thrift pile, but I loved the collar of the dress so much. It’s so old-school! I decided to turn this into a flowy tank top instead. (Confession: I am a flow-addict.)

First, I cut off the bottom and pinned the hem of the newly made tank.

Snip, snip!(I’m saving that stretchy bottom piece to use as the waistband of a skirt.) After I sewed the hem, I took in a couple inches off the back to prevent a triangle-shaped profile.

Just pin, sew and cut!Then I made a few last minute pins and tucks and we were good to go! Here’s Fantasia, strutting her stuff!

Work it, girl.And from the side:

Aw, yeah.I was happy with the finished product! Go team! That’s craft 41 of 52: Complete!

Hope everyone enjoys their 3-day weekend and gets some much-needed rest and relaxation! Enjoy!

The man who doesn’t relax and hoot a few hoots voluntarily, now and then, is in great danger of hooting hoots and standing on his head for the edification of the pathologist and trained nurse, a little later on.  ~Elbert Hubbard

 

 

 

 

 

 

About whatkittydid

I'm a crafter, a feminist, a reader, a mom, and a cat-lover.

2 responses to “happy labor day weekend

  1. Mama Pihl

    I was just going to text you to see if you got the package. Your tickets were in there right?? Anyway, I’m so glad that two of the dresses fit and you like them!! Maybe you can wear one to Calen’s wedding? And, I love the shirt you made out of this dress. I knew you wouldn’t like the dress. I’m not a fan of that style, but I knew my crafty daughter-in-law could do something with it. It’s adorable!

  2. Diane Nave

    I love the new tank! Very cute.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email!

Archives

Categories

Blog Stats

  • 7,001 visitors
