10 things i learned in my first year of marriage

1. Living with someone (other than a same-sex roommate) is weird at first. I learned, for instance, that I have stage fright when it comes to peeing. I didn’t go to the bathroom when Jordan was home for the first 4 weeks we were married. (I’m not exaggerating or joking, unfortunately.)

2. Being married is a lot easier than dating. We both know the other is in it for the long haul, so it’s okay to let a little of the crazy out. Example: I can be very upfront about the fact that if I don’t drink my coffee out of a certain mug, it will be awful and my whole day will be ruined.

3. Being married makes getting dressed easier. I don’t have to impress anyone anymore. Don’t know what to wear to the office? Who cares! It doesn’t matter if I look cute, as long as I look professional! I’m definitely much more comfortable in my own skin these days!

4. In the same vein, being married makes social interactions easier. I’m not nearly as concerned with people liking me. (To be honest, I was never that concerned.) I can just be happy and do my own thing and know that Jordan likes who I am, and that’s definitely enough for me! In unrelated news, you may no longer want to be seen in public with me. Apparently, my social filter is WAY down.

5. Trader Joe’s makes incredible ready-to-eat entrees. Just pop it in the oven, and you’re good to go. Coincidentally, neither of us has really mastered the kitchen yet. We’ll get there eventually.

6. Having in-laws is pretty terrific. Having one great family is fantastic, gaining a second one is like winning the lottery!

7. Choosing what to watch on Netflix is approximately seventeen times harder than when I was single. I like crime shows. Jordan likes documentaries. I like shows from the seventies and eighties. Jordan likes hockey. It’s really rough. (Plus side: it teaches compromise!)

8. Experiencing new things together is fun! We’ve gone to a couple of parks and gardens together, helped friends move, attended a music festival, adopted cats…making memories together is the best!

9. People will definitely throw some criticism your way if you get married young. I’ve heard the phrase “young and dumb” tossed about more times than I can count. I try not to let it get to me. There’s no real nice way to say, “I’m sorry YOU were young and dumb, but you haven’t met MY husband!”

10. There’s nothing wrong with needing time alone. As Khalil Gibran wrote, “The pillars of the temple stand apart, and the oak tree and the cypress grow not in each other’s shadow.”

Happy Anniversary, Jordan! I love you!

“here is the deepest secret nobody knows (here is the root of the root and the bud of the bud and the sky of the sky of a tree called life; which grows higher than the soul can hope or mind can hide) and this is the wonder that’s keeping the stars apart: i carry your heart (i carry it in my heart)” – e e cummings

About whatkittydid

I'm a crafter, a feminist, a reader, a mom, and a cat-lover.

One response to “10 things i learned in my first year of marriage

  1. Mama Pihl

    You have learned A LOT in your first year of marriage and I love the things you have learned. I smiled at #9 and will need to use that quote next time someone makes a comment of how young you are! You are truly soul mates. I have said that from the beginning. We have been blessed by you over and over again. You have made our son so very happy and I know he has done the same for you. We love you so much.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email!

Archives

Categories

Blog Stats

  • 7,057 visitors
