24 candles on my cake

24 Things I’m Grateful For

1. My family. I have the best mish-mash of biological family, in-law family, and by-marriage family that anybody could ask for! I’ve got four great parents, two great sisters, two great brothers, and a myriad of great cousins, aunts, uncles and grandparents that make me smile every time I think of them! How lucky am I?!

2. Jordan, of course! He’ll be embarrassed if I write mushy things so I’ll just say how happy I am to be married to my best friend. =)

3. Sora, Sisko, and Macbeth. There’s nothing quite like curling up at night and having a rough little sandpaper tongue lick your nose before snuggling under the covers with you, or hearing a the little snores of a snoozing hamster as he twitches in his sleep!

4. My apartment. I like our neighbors, and our neighborhood, and our underground bunker! I love the little home we’ve created here!

5. Caity! Because life is an ugly, awful place not to have a best friend. (Thanks for taking me out for coffee tonight!)

6. Rob. Because life is an ugly, awful place not to have a Rob.

7. My church. I’m grateful we have the freedom to worship any way we choose, but I’m also grateful for this particular church.

8. Frozen yogurt. Because…well, come on: fro-yo.

9. My college degree. I may have whined and moaned a lot (and I mean a lot) while I got it, but I came out with a solid education, and a fancy piece of paper with my name written in calligraphy!

10. The fruit market down the street. I didn’t know it, but my life wasn’t complete until I bought 4 pounds of strawberries for $4.

11. Thrift stores. I’m grateful that I have somewhere cheap to buy things because I’m frugal and I like the mystery that comes with secondhand things, but also for the many stores that donate money to shelters or programs.

12. My job. I like going to work in the morning! I like my co-workers, I like my cubicle, I like the outdoor patio where I eat my lunch. I’m grateful to have a job, and more so, to have a job I enjoy.

13. Taylor Swift. I just feel like my radio would be sad without her.

14. Family traditions. Apple-picking for Jordan’s birthday, cinnamon buns on Christmas morning, the sunrise service in the cemetery on Easter…I’m grateful for all of these things!

15. Trips to Massachusetts. I really like New England. Especially in Autumn.

16. Lessons that were learned the hard way. Nothing like skinning your knees to teach you not to run downhill.

17. Netflix. I wouldn’t be able to watch Saved By The Bell nearly as frequently without it.

18. The fact that my 4 years of high school weren’t the “best years of my life.” I’d be really freaking bummed if they were.

19. My gracelessness. Being clumsy isn’t really a gift (and it certainly isn’t as adorable as they make it out to be in romantic comedies), but blundering through life has its own charm, in that it taught me to really appreciate gracefulness in others. I wouldn’t enjoy watching ballet nearly as much if I could do it myself.

20. Women’s rights. I’m so grateful for my right to vote, my right to work, my right to have an equal say in my marriage. (And while I occasionally find myself on my soapbox anyway, it’s because I’m continuing a movement, not starting one.)

21. Little luxuries. Things like hot showers, cold juice, the softest, best bed in the world. (It’s a Sleep Number!) I’m grateful that these are all things I can appreciate on a daily basis!

22. My sewing machine. I love sewing. Taking Home Ec in 7th grade was one of the best things that ever happened to me!

23. Flats. I’m over wearing heels; fashion be damned.

24. Meat alternatives. Being a vegetarian is a lot easier today than it was even a few years ago. There are very few meals containing meat that I can’t find a non-meat substitute for. I’m really grateful for this because it makes dinner so much easier!

And one to grow on…

25. That every year I grow closer to my family, closer to God, and closer to the person I’d really like to be.

Happy birthday to me!

“Piglet noticed that even though he had a Very Small Heart, it could hold a rather large amount of Gratitude.” – A. A. Milne

About whatkittydid

I'm a crafter, a feminist, a reader, a mom, and a cat-lover.

2 responses to “24 candles on my cake

  1. Mom

    Beautiful! Just like you! Happy Birthday!!

  2. Mama Pihl

    I LOVE THAT! It is wonderful and creative and so touching! Happy Birthday to you . . . my wonderful daughter (in-love as Todd would say!)

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email!

Archives

Categories

Blog Stats

  • 7,001 visitors
