checkerboard champ

Happy Saturday, friends!

Heads up: I didn’t make this craft, but it’s super cool so I’m blogging about it anyway! This one is by our friend, Rob.

Go get 'em, boys.In this picture, Rob’s rockin’ the hat, and Jordan’s rockin’ the fake mustache. (I’ve learned not to question the things they do.)

Anyway, Rob’s two loves in life are his car and checkerboard designs. The obvious plan would be to combine these two things. He’s already checkerboarded the side view mirrors,

I love this.

so the next step, clearly, was the headliner. For those of you who don’t know what that is (like me before Rob told me) it’s the ceiling of the car.

First, he took it out and scraped all the original fuzzy fabric off of it.I don't know anything about cars, so these won't be very clever.

Then we went to JoAnn Fabrics and bought checkerboard fleece and sprayable glue.

He laid the fleece over the plastic headliner

Rob goes nuts for checkerboards.and stretched it to look nice.

Lookin' good, Rob Millz.Next, he cut off the excess around the edges and cut out holes for the sunroof and the top console. Then he folded the edges around the back and glued everything down.

We're almost there!Finally, he reassembled it into his car!

Whaaaat!And from another angle:

Bar Down is a hockey term, I guess?How nice does that look?! Rob is such a champ. (Ladies, he’s taken. I’m marrying him off to my sister-in-law, for a modest dowry, to keep him in the family.)

So that’s that! I’m off to enjoy this beautiful day now and I hope you are, too!

 

About whatkittydid

I'm a crafter, a feminist, a reader, a mom, and a cat-lover.

2 responses to “checkerboard champ

  1. Emilee Pihl

    I like the second to last paragraph =P At first I was like, since when is he taken? And then I was like, AHHHHH I GET IT. Clever!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email!

Archives

Categories

Blog Stats

  • 6,993 visitors
