craftapalooza

Hey, guys!

J and I are heading off to Cape Cod tomorrow for a couple days to spend time with his family so I wanted to make sure I shared these crafts before we went!

Background: I have a $20 gift card to JoAnn Fabrics, but I promised myself that I would try to use as many remnants as possible before I bought new ones. Some of them got used in Sunday’s peasant skirt, but I had a lot more to go! I liked the idea of using multiple fabrics in one garment so much that I made a second skirt: this one a shorter, vertical panel skirt. I did French hems on the inside (a step I skipped for the peasant skirt) and used 2-inch elastic in the waist. Here’s one side:

Sloppy pictures. =(And here’s the other:

A little better.Recognize any fabrics? We’ve got some Malaysian floral from the shift dress, the teal lining from Caity’s bag, and a variety of scraps/remnants! I wore it to work and felt very festive. I love floral patterns!

Next up, I busted out that little-girl-playing-dress-up fabric that I bought a while back. I paired it with some dark blue felt and made a long, not-too-deep beach bag for some friends of ours. (Shh, they don’t know yet!)

Big enough to hold a few towels!They’ve got three kids, so I made sure to make it long enough for plenty of towels!

Lastly, I grabbed the floral terrycloth fabric from this beach bag and made a smaller one for myself. It’s just large enough to hold two Kindles, some sunscreen, a water bottle and some other small necessities. (What I’m saying is that you’re going to have to carry our towels, Jordan. =P )

Floral fiesta!Bonus: the lining and straps are leftover from Caity’s bag as well!

So that’s crafts 39 and 40 (the bags count as one craft because I whipped them up together): Complete! You know what this means? A trip to JoAnn’s is in my future!

Hope everyone has a great weekend and maybe next week I’ll finally finish that jacket I started so long ago! =P

 

 

 

 

About whatkittydid

I'm a crafter, a feminist, a reader, a mom, and a cat-lover.

2 responses to “craftapalooza

  1. Mom

    Beautiful skirt! What kind of shoes do you wear with a skirt of so many colors? I have one similar, and no matter what pair of shoes I put on, it doesn’t seem right. ?

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email!

Archives

Categories

Blog Stats

  • 6,993 visitors
