homemade yogurt

Happy Saturday, friends!

Last night, Jordan and I got out the yogurt maker we received as a wedding gift. First of all, it looks awesome. It’s like a yogurt maker from the future. It has seven little glass jars with white, screw-on lids and they all fit inside of this nifty dome that preps the yogurt.

The future is here!

I was pretty excited. First I filled each jar with skim milk

I love these jars.

and poured them into my pot.

Double, double, toil and trouble.

Then I brought the milk to a boil, took it off the heat, and let it cool to lukewarm. I helped this process along by sticking my pot in the sink which I’d filled with cold water. Here’s my pot floating happily:

It's like a lazy river in there.

When the milk was lukewarm, I mixed 6 oz of vanilla yogurt

45 cents at Bottom Dollar Foods.

with 16 oz of the milk, then poured the yogurt mixture back into the rest of the milk and mixed it all together.

Then I spooned the yogurt/milk mixture into my little glass jars, popped them into the yogurt dome (henceforth known as Thunder Dome) and turned the little dial to “ten” because the instruction manual told me that if you use skim milk, it will take ten hours.

Seven yogurts enter...seven yogurts leave.

I wanted to use soy milk for the flavor, but Jordan wisely pointed out that we had a whole gallon of skim milk in the fridge that hadn’t been opened and that I don’t drink. So I agreed. Skim milk for yogurt, soy milk for drinking. (And maybe for yogurt, too.) =P

Ten hours later (ie: this morning) I took off the Thunder Dome lid and put the white lids on each of the jars. Then I put them in the fridge for three hours. After that, I took one out and tasted it. I was shocked at first by the sort of sour taste, and then I realized, duh, there was no sweetener in it! The guidebook suggested adding honey afterwards, which I did, and I was pleasantly surprised! It was like real yogurt! It’s not quite as firm as store-bought yogurt, but it’s close. Also, the guidebook suggests adding powdered milk to the milk mixture before I put it in the Thunder Dome to help with firmness. And using soy milk would also probably make it sweeter. =)

Conclusion? I will enjoy this yogurt very much. Craft 28 of 52: Complete!

kitty

About whatkittydid

I'm a crafter, a feminist, a reader, a mom, and a cat-lover.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email!

Archives

Categories

Blog Stats

  • 6,993 visitors
