my infinity scarf

Two posts in one day! Whaaaat!

I decided I wanted one of those neat infinity scarves that all the cool kids are wearing these days. I chose that oriental blue and brown silky fabric that I wrote about before. All of these pictures were taken with the flash off, because when I had it on, the fabric was just one big reflective mess. So keep that in mind. =P

The fabric was originally two feet wide by about three feet long. I cut it in half lengthwise and sewed the short sides together so that I had one piece that was one foot wide and six feet long. Then I hemmed both six foot sides. Check out my French seam in this picture (it’s the vertical one)!

Oui oui!

A French seam is when you sew the fabric wrong sides together at half your usual seam allowance and then sew it right sides together at your usual seam allowance. This hides all the edges inside a nice little bundle that can’t be seen by either side! It wouldn’t have really mattered on this scarf, since I folded the whole thing in half anyway, but the jacket I’m making has French seams and I’m trying to get in some more practice before I try it on the sleeves. =)

Like I said, the next step was to fold the fabric in half, lengthwise, and sew it down. It now measure 6 inches by 6 feet.

I told you the backside of the fabric was pretty too!

Then I turned the scarf right side out and sewed the final edges together to complete the circle. This was the hardest part because, in order to keep the rough edges inside the scarf, they had to be folded in and pinned, but since it was already in a circular shape, there wasn’t a lot of room for my hands, needle or sewing machine. I decided to hand-sew it because I just didn’t see it happening on the machine at all. Here’s Fantasia modeling the finished product! Click on this picture to see the fabric up close!

She's a professional.

Tada! I’m pretty pleased with this! Going to wear it tonight to my parents’ house! Craft 27 of 52: Complete!

Also, on a personal note, while I do have fabulous burgundy hair now, the shower broke as I finished rinsing out the dye. Now only the tub works. =/ I called our landlord (yay for living in an apartment!) and the maintenance people will be out to fix it on Monday. So it looks like it’s baths until then. (Update: Jordan tried to take a bath when he got home from work and discovered the tub drain-stopper is non-existent. No matter which way you flip the little switch-thing, the water drains. Faaab.)

But, in the grand scheme of things, what’s a little non-bathing between friends? =P

kitty

“Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ! In His great mercy, He has given us new birth into a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead…” – 1 Peter 1:3

About whatkittydid

I'm a crafter, a feminist, a reader, a mom, and a cat-lover.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email!

Archives

Categories

Blog Stats

  • 7,057 visitors
