where’s the place at the table for folks like me?

Happy Friday! We made it through another week! Hurrah! Are you ready for a fun patchworky craft!?

As you may or may not know, Jordan and I are heading down to Florida later this spring to see my brother and sister-in-law. (And Harry Potter.) Because they’re so cool, I wanted to make them something that would be cool, too. If you’ve been reading their blog, you know that Hani has some awesome kitchen stuff so I decided to make them something that would match the style of the stuff they already have, which is a sort of unique/colorful/retro/child-friendly mashup. I pulled out some of my fun scraps leftover from the baby blanket I made for my boss’s son, and an old yellow tablecloth.

First, I cut two 12 x 18 inch rectangles. The material was very heavy. More on that later.

This thing was made for a banquet table, it was so big.

Then I arranged my patches on the fabric, and sewed them together. (I sewed the patches together, I mean, not the yellow fabric.)

I love these colors!

Then I folded the yellow fabric twice and pinned it up and over the edge of the patches to create a border. (See the paw in the upper left hand corner? Teehee!)

I like how the yellow looks with the reds and blues.

Then I sewed it all down with teal thread. This took longer than expected because the fabric was so heavy (and folding it over made it twice as thick) that I broke two machine needles on it. (The first one was a regular needle, so it was understandable, but the second one was for sewing denim! Yikes!) No harm done, though, I buy them in packs of five just for this purpose!

Here are the finished products:

Aren't they presh!?

I hope Hani and Nathan like them! This would also be a great of use of any fabric swatches you have left over (or that you got for free this week!) Mixing and matching is fun!

Craft 15 of 52: Complete!

kitty

Bonus picture: Two of these things are not like the others.

Yesterday, they unwound an entire spool all over the floor.

About whatkittydid

I'm a crafter, a feminist, a reader, a mom, and a cat-lover.

One response to “where’s the place at the table for folks like me?

  1. Love it! And yes – it’ll fit well with the whole I-don’t-know-what-theme-we’re-going-with thing we have going on here 😉 Can’t wait till you guys are here!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email!

Archives

Categories

Blog Stats

  • 7,001 visitors
