sweet thing, don’t you know you’re my everything?

Hey, gang!

Two posts in two days — that’s the magic of a guest blogger. =P I have two things to share with you today! First, guess what came in the mail this morning?! Here’s a hint:

THE SUSPENSE IS KILLING ME!
It’s bigger than a breadbox.

Need another hint?

I'M SO EXCITED I JUST CAN'T HIDE IT!
My dress form!!

While Jordan made dinner, (tomato soup and grilled cheese sandwiches!) I assembled my new toy. Except I put one of the feet on upside down and had to have Jordan get it off and fix it. (Helpful tip: don’t use a hammer until you’re sure everything is right.)

She's a beaut!
Look how professional she looks!

I decided to name her, since I firmly believe all beloved objects need names. (Remember Fabian, Elan, Tarrou, and Garth?) Here’s Fantasia and me, hanging out like the best friends we will soon be:

I look like a scrub. =/
Ahh, a friendship blossoms.

After fawning over Fantasia, and finishing my fabulous grilled cheddar sandwich, I put together an apple crisp for Jordan and I to enjoy with coffee. (It’s Friday which means I can drink coffee at night if I want!)

First, I mixed 1 cup whole wheat flour, 1 cup oats, and 1 cup brown sugar together with a fork.

The famous melamine bowls make another appearance.
It smelled like delicious oatmeal.

Then I melted 1 stick of butter (1/2 cup) and stirred that into the oats until they got crumbly.

Is it wrong that I wanted to eat it already?
Now it smells like delicious granola.

Next, I poured half the mixture into a greased casserole dish and patted it down a bit before starting to layer my apple slices over top. I used two medium/large apples. (I bought them at Gentile’s Market, the most adorable, well-priced local fruit market ever!) After all the apples were placed in the dish, I sprinkled the whole thing with cinnamon and sugar.

Around this time, I remembered to preheat the oven.
It’s a very aesthetically pleasing dish!

Finally, I poured the rest of the oat mixture on top and popped it in the oven.

Scrumdiddlyumptious!
Fruit crisps are the best.

It’ll be done baking in about ten minutes, at which point Jordan and I will enjoy it with a good book! (Might I recommend The Year She Fell by Alicia Rasley?)

Feel free to stop by and share some crisp! =D

kitty

About whatkittydid

I'm a crafter, a feminist, a reader, a mom, and a cat-lover.

5 responses to “sweet thing, don’t you know you’re my everything?

  1. Mama Pihl

    That was the very first book I read on my new kindle! Funny, I’d never read anything by that author before. I liked it!

  2. syida

    Thank you for sharing the recipe, might just try it someday 😉 At what temperature should the oven be?

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email!

Archives

Categories

Blog Stats

  • 6,993 visitors
