don’t make me take my earrings out

Greetings, friends! As promised, here is my first ever guest blog, written by the crafty and comedic Caity Dalton! (Perhaps you remember her from the Great Gingerbread Houses of 2011?) Sit back, relax, and enjoy!

Hello!

I’ve recently gotten addicted to Pinterest, a site where you “pin” things you like, and found a really neat idea there on how to store earrings in a cute and decorative way. I usually just toss my earrings on my dresser, they end up falling into the drawers and then I’m confused as to why I can never find the earrings. It’s a tough life.

First, I went to Michaels to pick out a cute (and affordable) frame. I found a really nice white frame (shown below) for about $4.95, since I happened to be shopping during a clearance sale. Completely unplanned and completely awesome!

Then, I went to Home Depot and bought a decorative radiator grate, which come in various sizes. For my purposes, I got the smallest size, which was about 10x20inches. They came in different colors/designs and I chose a silvery color, as I thought it would look best with the white frame. I didn’t want to be stuck with a gold grate, which could be hard to match to future room décor.

Ready? Okay!
My supplies!

Then, as all good crafters do, I measured and marked the radiator grate to make sure I wouldn’t make a mistake. I first attempted to score the grate with an x-acto knife, hoping to break off the excess pieces. Then I realized that the grate was so thin that I could just use a pair of strong scissors. For projects where the edges of the grate would show, using scissors isn’t ideal because the material curls up at the ends, but it suited my craft just fine. =)

Careful: bloodshed almost always ruins crafts.
Snip, snip!

I measured wrong the first time (rulers can be faulty!) so I had to cut the grate down a few times before it was perfect.

"The codes are no good, skipper!" "Don't give me excuses, give me results!"
Too big!

Now, the instructions that I found for this craft said that they used clear packing tape to attach the grate to the frame, but I thought that seemed sloppy and temporary, so I used a hot glue gun, just to be on the safe side. Who doesn’t love using a hot glue gun?!

So I let the glue dry and voila! I had a perfectly adorable and convenient way to hold all my dangly earrings. This was a really easy craft, and aside from the time spent getting the grate and frame, it didn’t take much time at all. Also, I have enough grate left to make another holder if I want to. I think I’ll make a smaller one as a present for whoever has a birthday next! =)

I'm so proud!
Tada!
I'm ready for my close-up!
Fabulosa!

Thanks for crafting in my absence, Caity! And my birthday’s in August. Just saying. =P

kitty

About whatkittydid

I'm a crafter, a feminist, a reader, a mom, and a cat-lover.

3 responses to “don’t make me take my earrings out

  1. Mama Pihl

    Wow! You have a friend that is just as crafty as you! I love the earring holder. I used to have an earring tree when I was a teenager. I think it’s time for another. My birthday is in July! 🙂

  2. Mom

    So crafty, Caity! Great idea! Will it hold stud earrings, too, or would they fall through the grate?

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email!

Archives

Categories

Blog Stats

  • 6,993 visitors
