elastic love, such a spastic love

Happy Wednesday! The week is almost over! And what a week it’s been!

If you haven’t been keeping up with us on Facebook, then you don’t know that this week Jordan and I adopted two beautiful cats! This is their adoption picture:

We love teh kittehz!
Ohhhhh!

The one sitting up is Sisko and the other is Sora. They are four years old and their names mean “sister” in Romanian and Finnish. =) Expect more posts about our new kitties in the future!

Right now, however, I have a mid-week craft to share! I bought a nifty plaid shirt at Nana’s Attic in Broomall, PA but it didn’t hang quite right. It was very boxy. Here it is before the alterations:

That box of Bacardi in the background is filled with magazines, by the way.
Pretty colors, right?

Like I said, very boxy. I’m trying to steer away from simply taking my clothes in on the side seams, though, because I’d like them to be able to be worn for years and you never know when you might grow. Making them fit me exactly the way I am at this very moment seems risky. So, instead, I devised this genius plan. First, I tried it on and decided how much it needed to be taken in, then I pinched that much fabric off of the back, at the bottom of my shoulder blades, and marked that with chalk.

My "chalk" is actually white eyeliner I bought at the dollar store years ago.
That’s sort of almost symmetrical.

Then I got a piece of elastic out and stretched it until it was the length of the chalk marks.

Lookin' spiffy.
This is before I stretched and measured.

Then I sewed the elastic down, letting the fabric bunch up as I released it. Unfortunately, I had to do this twice. The first time I sewed one sleeve to the back of the shirt. Oops.

Nice work.
I can’t put my finger on it, but something doesn’t seem right.

After I tore out all those stitches [SIDE NOTE: SISKO JUST STRETCHED IN HER SLEEP AND ROLLED OFF THE BED. I AM IN LOVE.] and got rid of the thread fuzzies, I resewed the elastic. When I was finished, it looked like this:

The thread is silvery and doesn't stand out that much in person.
I guess that looks better. Whatever.

After that, all that was left was to take two inches in off each side. (The original shirt was meant for people with curves. I have boy hips.) Here’s the finished product from the front and back!

Check out my french braid. I did that myself.
Ruffly!
Jordan's really tall.
Fitted shirts for the win!

For the record, Jordan’s not really that tall but the first picture he took was from a seated position and I looked like a giant. I asked him to stand up to retake it and he got all smarty-pants on me and stood on the bed. Still, it was a better angle. =P

Anyway, that’s all for tonight! Leave me a comment and let me know what you think of this shirt’s makeover!

kitty (and her kitties!)

Craft 4 of 52: Complete.

About whatkittydid

I'm a crafter, a feminist, a reader, a mom, and a cat-lover.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email!

Archives

Categories

Blog Stats

  • 7,057 visitors
