experience the warmth before you grow old

Hello friends!

I hope the new year is treating you all well! I am writing to you now with the help of my newest friends:

I LOVE THEM!
From left to right: Tarrou, Fabian, Garth & Elan

These cuties were a Christmas present from Mr Jordan. They got lost in the Postal World and were only delivered yesterday. If you can’t tell, there’s an owl, a squirrel, a puppy and a bunny. I am growing very attached to them and have already noticed distinct personality traits amongst each of them. We shall be great friends.

Elan and I spent last night catching up on one of our favorite craft blogs. Then Tarrou and I went to the thrift store today and got an exciting plaid button-up shirt and a greyish skirt. Verrrry exciting. =P

My fabric purchases from JoAnn arrived today! I’m super excited to make some new things! I love new things! Also, I found this pattern that Caity got me for my birthday a year ago that I have yet to make. My ability to use the sewing machine has definitely improved since then and I think I can swing this pretty easy! I’m excited to try it out!

Today, however, I’m making a winter accessory. As some of you know, my office is not warm. It’s usually between 55 and 58 degrees. Inside. So, in an effort to fight the bitter cold, I’m making a bean pillow that can be microwaved to keep me toasty warm!

I rustled up some brown plaid fabric leftover from the Kindle cover I made my Dad for Christmas. (Important: if you’re making a pillow like this, the fabric needs to be 100% cotton in order to be microwave-safe.)

My dad says this fabric is "slick." I guess that means cool?
It’s very worn and soft. I like it!

Next, I cut a rectangle out of the fabric that, folded in half, would be the right dimensions for my pillow.

Perfecto.
Rectangletastic.

The nice thing about working with plaid is that you don’t need to worry about cutting straight, you just follow the lines (and add some extra room for hemming.) Sewing is easy too: again, just follow the lines! So now we take it to the sewing machine and sew three of the outer sides, right sides of the fabric together. (One of the sides I sewed was the folded over edge, which didn’t technically need a hem line but adding one makes the finished pillow look more professional.)

The top of my head has never looked better.
Thur’s some fancy stitchin’s for yus.

Now we turn it right side out and sew lines on it, dividing the pillow into sections so that the beans won’t all accumulate on one side. I’m going to sew four lines because there are four white plaid-y parts and I’d like my stitches to all be on top of one of those. Next, we gather our beans.

Beans, beans, the magical fruit!
Pinto and Great Northern. A delicious combination.

Filling up the little pods is the most fun part. =P (Homemade funnels for the win.)

That's right, ladies, see the ring?
Jordan helped me because he’s the best.

When all the pods are full, fold the top over, fold it again, and then hem it shut. I did this part by hand because the beans kept getting in the way of the sewing needle on the machine. When that’s done, it’s time to take it for a test run! Helpful hint: put a cup of water in the microwave with the pillow to keep the beans from drying out. (You can make the pillow with rice, too, but still use the water.) Also, don’t heat it for more than two minutes. =D

I half-cleaned the microwave just for this shot.
See the cup of water back there? Yeah.

When the microwave dings, take out your pillow and enjoy it!

Toasty.
I’m in love.

Craft #2 out of 52: Complete!

kitty

About whatkittydid

I'm a crafter, a feminist, a reader, a mom, and a cat-lover.

One response to “experience the warmth before you grow old

  1. Mama Pihl

    I LOVE the idea of the bean pillow. I could have used that over break. Emilee came in to me at 2 am asking for a heating pad. The one I used to own went with her to Florida. So, I’m scrounging around–half asleep–and I, thankfully, found an old hot water bottle that I used to use (way back in the day). Anyway, the one that she has in Florida is just like the one you just made. So very clever of you!!!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email!

Archives

Categories

Blog Stats

  • 7,003 visitors
