b-a-n-a-n-a-s

Today was my last day of work for the year 2011! Woohoo! Tomorrow, Jordan and I are taking little Graycie home to Mom and Dad and then celebrating New Years with them. That said, here’s a video of Graycie getting her tummy rubbed. My favorite part is when she stretches out her arms and legs. Also, my whinnying laugh at the end. =P

She’s so precious, I can hardly stand it! She even helped me bake today. We made banana bread using this recipe. First, we mixed up the batter (using applesauce in place of the butter and half of the called-for amount of eggs.)

The candy in the background is leftover from gingerbread houses.
There are six bananas mashed up in that batter.

Then, we checked the recipe to make sure it called for baking soda and not baking powder. (But who are we kidding, I don’t own baking powder so I would’ve used baking soda no matter what it said.)

Hmmm.
That’s my thinking face.

I doubled the recipe so I had a LOT of batter. Too much, it turned out. First, I filled a small loaf pan and popped that in the oven. Then, I filled a muffin tin. (See Graycie helping?)

Meowwww!
One spoonful in the pan, one in Graycie’s mouth!

After the muffin tin was full, I still had quite a bit of batter left. But, in my opinion, you can only have so much banana bread and muffins, so I cobbled something together. (Like MacGyver. You know how I do.) I poured the batter into a shallow baking pan and then grated some dark chocolate. (Jordan and I bought a one pound bar at Trader Joe’s. Best impulse buy ever.)

This was my grater's maiden voyage.
I was very careful not to grate my fingers, as per my usual.

I sprinkled the dark chocolate on top and then put that in the oven, too. In retrospect, I should have waited until the bread was done baking and then scattered the chocolate over it to melt gently. Being in the oven, it got a bit burnt. Not too badly though, so I think Jordan will still eat it. =D

The other exciting thing in the batter is that instead of using the usual spices, I used garam masala, which is a combination of cinnamon, cloves, black pepper, coriander and nutmeg. It’s smells sweet but has a little bit of a spicy twang to it. I like it. Last time I used it, it was in brownies and I highly recommend that. Absolutely delicious. =D

Anyway, here are all the finished products:

Gwen Stefani would be proud.
Minus one muffin that Jordan and I ate.

Delicioso!

Jordan and I hope that 2011 was good to you and that 2012 will be even better! We wish you the very happiest of New Years!

kitty

About whatkittydid

I'm a crafter, a feminist, a reader, a mom, and a cat-lover.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email!

Archives

Categories

Blog Stats

  • 7,057 visitors
