if my heart was a house, you’d be home

It’s been almost a week since I last posted because I’ve been sick and I’m only just now starting to feel like my old self. Being sick is awful, but I had Jordan taking care of me, which certainly helped! This post isn’t about me feeling miserable, though, it’s about (waitforitttttt) gingerbread houses!

Caity, my best friend from high school (as well as my maid-of-honor!) and I make gingerbread houses every winter. We go shopping for supplies together and then we head to my parents’ kitchen and spend the afternoon crafting our perfect gingerbread homes. (Except we use graham crackers. Because we’re cheaters.)

Even though I’ve gotten married and moved away, we didn’t see why our tradition should have to change, so I drove to Jersey and we got to work! First, we set about purchasing supplies.

We didn't come to play games.
I think that’s everything…

For anyone interested, Wegmans’ brand graham crackers taste less than delicious and tend to be a bit warped. Not ideal for building (or eating.) We were not discouraged, though; we had architectural masterpieces to create!

This takes skill.
Steady hands, now.

The trick is to build the house on a cookie tray for easy transportation purposes. We learned this the hard way the first year when we realized we were going to have to lift a fully-loaded gingerbread house off the counter and put it in Caity’s car for the trip home. Never again, we swore. (This year’s cookie trays were lovingly donated by Caity’s mom. Thanks, Mommy Dalton!)

Look how organized we are with our decorations!
Another key point: never skimp on icing.

This year, I took a risk and decided to forego inside support beams, relying solely on icing to hold the second floor on. It was intense, and the back wall may have fallen on a Sour Patch construction worker or two, but in the end, I think it paid off. =P Caity went with the more practical method of adding a layer of crackers between floors, because “how else will the gingerbread people stand on the second floor?” Toosh. (“I think it’s touche.” “Toosh, again.”)

The crowning achievements of our houses had to be the rooftop terrace garden on Caity’s house, and the pretzel wreath door on mine. Here they are in our very own gingerbread neighborhood:

Oh yeah.
Click on the picture for a better view!

What Caity and I love best about this tradition is how different our houses always look when they’re done. We like to think that our personalities come through in the finished product. They’re always unique in style and construction, but, just like us, they complement each other perfectly. =)

kitty

Check out the patriotism we've got going on in the background.
Friends for life. (Because she knows too much.)

PS: When I started writing this post, the house was complete. I left it in the living room with Rob and Jordan, and this is what it looks like now, having finished writing:

Oh, the humanity!
I think they like it.
About whatkittydid

I'm a crafter, a feminist, a reader, a mom, and a cat-lover.

5 responses to “if my heart was a house, you’d be home

  1. Mom

    I hope Rob didn’t eat ALL of my cookies, too! LOL!

  2. Thanks for sharing this wonderful holiday tradition….glad to hear no casualties at the work site….although it looks like a couple of bigger Sour Patch Kids were loose in the neighborhood!!!

  3. Mama Pihl

    I hope that you scolded Jordan and Rob for their bad behavior. What will Jordan do if you end up doing that to his Neuschwanstein castle that he builds at the next Gingerbread House party!! If Emilee was there I’m sure there would be a battle going on and his castle building would fail completely!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email!

Archives

Categories

Blog Stats

  • 7,057 visitors
